Avocado Butternut Lunch Bowl

pumpkin lunch bowl

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 diced tomatoes (Merinda variety is super flavourful)
  • 1 heaped handful cubed butternut squash
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp olive oil + more to oil the baking tray
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp ground chipotle chili or smoked paprika powder
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • (vanilla) salt
  • cooked quinoa or rice as base (optional)
  • sunny side up egg as topping (optional)

So I labelled this one a lunch bowl, but I typically make it after work. At that time of the day, the memories of sad canteen lunches and supermarket convenience aisles still haunt me so while I actually make it in the evening, I either double the amounts or snack on cheese and ham in the evening so I can bring this one to the office the next day, ensuring a lunch break that’s actually worth looking forward to.*

Cube the squash (skin-on if you’re too lazy to peel, that’s fine), put on a well-oiled baking tray, coat with cumin, chipotle or smoked paprika powder, (vanilla) salt, stick in the oven and roast for around 25 mins.

In the meantime, dice the tomatoes and avocado, chop the cilantro and infuse the olive oil with garlic by bringing it to medium heat in a pot or pan, well below the smoke point, and swirl the halved garlic cloves around. Discard the cloves after 3 mins and drizzle the oil and lime juice over the assembled bowl.

 

 

 

 

*Not that the quality of lunch matters when by 11.30am I can hear even the supermarket sandwiches sing a bewitching siren song, by which I get annoyed at my co-workers for existing and potter about in the search of a couple nuts that are not bloody peanuts in the trail mix at front desk… (why are there ever only raisins and peanuts left?!)

leave me a note